Wednesday, April 22, 2009

TN Hate Crimes Bill Moves Forward

Tennessee Hate Crimes Bill Moves Forward

On a day when a jury in Greeley, Colorado, found a man guilty for First Degree murder for the killing of Angie Zapata, a transgender woman, and when members of the Judiciary Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives defeated attempts to strip gender identity from H.R.1913, the Federal Local Law Enforcement Hate Crimes Prevention Act, Tennessee's House Criminal Practice Subcommittee passed HB0335, which would add "gender identity or expression" to Tennessee's hate crimes sentencing enhancement statute. The committee approved the bill by a voice vote with no questions and no debate.

The Tennessee Transgender Political Coalition thanks all of you who contacted members of the Criminal Practice Subcommittee. We especially appreciate the assistance of the Tennessee Equality Project for mobilizing their members is support of the bill.

We now move forward to the full House Judiciary Committee:

Kent Coleman (D-Murfreesboro), Chair, rep.kent.coleman@capitol.tn.gov
Jon Lundberg (R-Bristol), Vice-Chair, rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
Janis Sontany (D-Nashville), Secretary, rep.janis.sontany@capitol.tn.gov

Eddie Bass (D-Prospect), rep.eddie.bass@capitol.tn.gov
Karen Camper (D-Memphis), Bill Co-sponsor, rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
Vance Dennis (R-Savannah), rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
Chad Faulkner (R-Luttrell), rep.chad.faulkner@capitol.tn.gov
Henry Fincher (D-Cookeville), rep.henry.fincher@capitol.tn.gov
Brian Kelsey (R-Germantown), rep.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov
Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma), rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov
Mike Stewart (D-Nashville), Bill Co-sponsor, rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
Eric Watson (R-Cleveland), rep.eric.watson@capitol.tn.gov

The House Judiciary Committee will vote on HB0335 next Wednesday, April 29.

We would also like to thank those members who are signing on as co-sponsors of the bill. Those who are joining Jeanne Richardson (D-Memphis), Brenda Gilmore (D-Nashville) and Larry Turner (D-Memphis) are:

Karen Camper (D-Memphis), Judiciary Member, rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
Cooper, Barbara (D-Memphis), rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
DeBerry, Lois M. (D-Memphis), Speaker Pro Tempore, rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov
Hardaway, G. A. (D-Memphis), rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
Shaw, Johnny (D-Bolivar), rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov
Mike Stewart (D-Nashville), Judiciary Member, rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov

In addition, we thank State Senator Ophelia Ford (D-Memphis) for joining Beverly Marrero as a co-sponsor of the companion bill in the Senate, SB0235.

Marisa Richmond
President

3 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

[url=http://www.ile-maurice.com/forum/members/wetter-vorhersage.html][b]wetter gardasee[/b][/url]

[url=http://www.ile-maurice.com/forum/members/wetter-vorhersage.html][b]paul wetter[b][/url]

February 7, 2010 at 1:39 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hey.

A bank is a financial institution that accepts deposits and channels those deposits into lending activities. Bank primarily provide financial services to customers while enriching investors. Government restrictions on financial activities by banks vary over time and location. Banks are important players in financial markets and offer services such as investment funds and loans. In some countries such as Germany, banks have historically owned major stakes in industrial corporations while in other countries such as the United States bank are prohibited from owning non-financial companies. In Japan, banks are usually the nexus of a cross-share holding entity known as the keiretsu. In France, bancassurance is prevalent, as most banks offer insurance services (and now real estate services) to their clients.

The level of government regulation of the banking industry varies widely, with countries such as Iceland, having relatively light regulation of the banking sector, and countries such as China having a wide variety of regulations but no systematic process that can be followed typical of a communist system.[url=http://projectcontrol.v3host.nl]CLICK HERE[/url]

February 9, 2010 at 1:56 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

[url=http://www.facebook.com/pages/weathercom/298713874092l]www.weather.com[/url]

February 15, 2010 at 10:04 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home